Dandies Vegan Marshmallows

Traditionally, marshmallows are filled with lots of unhealthy ingredients, like high fructose corn syrup, and artificial flavor and color. Yuck! And they contain gelatin, which is an animal-based ingredient made from bones and other yucky parts of animals, many times from pork. This is a problem for people who keep kosher as well as for vegetarians. There are kosher marshmallows made from fish gelatin, but as a vegetarian, I was never totally comfortable with that concept.

Dandies vegan marshmallows at natural products expo east
Dandies vegan marshmallows at Natural Products Expo East


About a year ago, I discovered Dandies vegan marshmallows at a trade show. What a great idea! Marshmallows that only contain natural ingredients, and no animal gelatin. How do they do it? These marshmallows taste even better than the unhealthy marshmallows. And my husband is convinced that these are the best tasting marshmallows he has ever eaten.

They come in fun flavors like: vanilla, mini vanilla, peppermint, and pumpkin.

Ingredients of the vanilla marshmallows:

Tapioca Syrup, Cane Sugar, Filtered Water, Tapioca Starch, Carrageenan, Soy Protein, Natural Vanilla Flavor.

Dandies vegan marshmallows vanilla

Some great features of these marshmallows:

  • 100% Vegan, made in a dedicated vegan facility
  • All natural ingredients
  • Free from most common allergens (peanut, tree nut, milk, egg, wheat, fish, shellfish, corn)
  • Gluten free
  • No corn syrup

Kosher certification:

These marshmallows are supervised by the CRC, kosher pareve.

Where to buy:

Dandies vegan marshmallows can be purchased at a number of stores, including many Stop & Shop stores and Whole Foods stores, and many health food stores.


Check out my recipe for a Sweet Potato Casserole topped with Marshmallows. I used the Dandies vegan mini vanilla marshmallows, and I made this recipe for our vegetarian Thanksgiving dinner.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *